h1

Hello Sunshine!

September 17, 2009

IMG_1108

We are having wonderful weather at the moment and the extended summer is welcomed I’m sure by most Edmontonians. Today I had the pleasure to finally meet Frank on my way in to the office this morning. Frank is a resident at a seniors home on 111 Avenue and I have observed him many times riding up and down in his motorized scooter covered with Canadian flags, sunflowers and garlands. I always thought to myself what a cheerful old guy he must be. This morning I found that out for sure. He was sat outside my local Tim Horton’s adding cream to his coffee and tucking into a breakfast sandwich. I said hello and he replied with a hearty ‘Good Morning!’ his face beaming with delight and happiness.

We began to engage in a brief conversation, although I was late for work I didn’t seem to care as Frank proudly told me a brief history of his colourful life. He moved here from Montreal 35 years ago and loves Alberta so much he considers himself to be a true Albertan. He is 80 years young at the end of the month and has eleven grandchildren. He told me how he lost his wife to cancer when she was 64 and how he still misses her, but that doesn’t prevent him from being one of the happiest Edmontonians I’ve ever met.

I went inside and grabbed my morning coffee and thought I would add some extra sunshine to Frank’s day too – I bought him a Tim’s Card which seemed to make his day! He couldn’t thank me enough as he shook my hand. With a smile as wide as the North Saskatchewan, sitting in his multi-coloured ride enjoying his breakfast in the morning sun, Frank certainly brightened my day.

So, if you are driving along 111 Avenue in between 120 Street and 124 Street and you see a blaze of colour on the sidewalk, slow down and say hello to ‘Sunshine Frank’, it’ll make his day!

IMG_1109

Leave a Reply

